ÖGAI Annual Meeting 2017 in Wien


Dear friends and colleagues,

A highlight of this year was our annual meeting, held in the Bundesministerium für Frauen und Gesundheit, from 23.-25.11.2017 in Vienna. We once again thank the organizing committee and gratefully acknowledge the support of our sponsors and exhibitors. We are also very grateful to Fr. Steinkellner and her team from the Vienna Medical Academy who perfectly organized the meeting!

This year´s scientific program addressed the topic “immunotherapy” from different angles. Six distinguished international and national keynote speakers were invited for keynote lectures. Moreover, 30 junior scientists presented their data in oral presentations selected from the 126 submitted abstracts. In addition, six guided poster sessions took place. With this we intend to provide a platform for sharing novelties and best practices and foster the national networking of scientists, clinicians and exhibitors. The best presentations in each session were awarded with prizes. We once again congratulate the awardees of

Poster Prices:

Andrea Pölzl ”Tyrosine kinase 2 (TYK2) enables sustained IL-1β production through the upregulation of caspase-11 during endotoxemia

Gabriela Sánchez Acosta “Induction of food-specific blocking antibodies for birch pollen-related food allergies

Liisa Andersen “MAZR Modulates Regulatory T Cell Development and Function

Vanessa Mayr “Establishment of a new expression platform for plant allergens

Felicitas Mungenast “Ectopic lymphoid structures in cancer tissues: dissecting complexity and functionality

Johanna Strobl “A subset of long-lived memory T cells resides in the skin of hematopoietic stem cell recipients

Oral presentation prices:

Izabela Borek “Bone morphogenetic protein 7 (BMP7) signalling defines psoriatic niche and instructs human inflammatory Langerhans cells

Sabine Flicker “Antibody conjugates bi-specific for ICAM1 and allergens prevent epithelial penetration of allergens and rhinovirus infection

Bernhard Kratzer “Prophylactic treatment with virus like-nanoparticles (VNP) containing shielded allergen prevents sensitization in a mouse model of mugwort allergy

Sherezade Moñino Romero “The soluble isoform of human FcepsilonRI is an endogenous inhibitor of IgE-mediated responses

Natalija Simonovic “TYK2 regulates NK cell function by cell-intrinsic and -extrinsic mechanisms”

Ursula Smole “The acute phase protein serum amyloid A1 (SAA1) is a key component of innate type 2 immunity in allergic diseases

During the annual meeting our highly renowned ÖGAI awards were handed over in a festive and very personal manner. The awardees were chosen by an international reviewer board.

Monika Linke received the Karl Landsteiner Preis, for her work „Chronic signaling via the metabolic checkpoint kinase mTORC1 induces macrophage granuloma formation and marks sarcoidosis progression” (Nat Immunol. 2017;18:293-302) and Simona Saluzzo received the Clemens von Pirquet Preis for her work „First-Breath-Induced Type 2 Pathways Shape the Lung Immune Environment“ (Cell Rep. 2017;18:1893-1905).

Dagmar Gotthardt (Ursula und Fritz Melchers Dissertationspreis für „The role of STAT3 and STAT5 in murine Natural Killer Cells“) and Yoan Javier Machado Hernandez (ÖGAI Dissertationspreis für „Understanding and manipulating allergenicity of Bet v 1: Implications for Allergy Vaccine Development“) received the awards for their PhD theses.

Congratulations! The ÖGAI appreciates the excellence of our awardees! We want to mention that our international reviewers were also very impressed by the high quality of the submitted work! The ÖGAI is very proud of our young academics!

Program and Details

Fotos see "Members" Section



Wir danken den unterstützenden Mitgliedern: